Through the Looking Lens: No. 8

I’ve learned a few new things about my camera.  I have a hard copy manual, but discovered that there’s an Nikon “manual viewer” app.  Better still, it’s iPad friendly and space saving.

This enlightenment came about because I learned my passport expires just about the time I might have need of it.  You can now renew online and get someone to take a photo of you with their digital camera or phone.  I thought I’d try a self-portrait.  This entails, putting the camera on a tripod, focusing the lens on an object where you intend to pose, locking the focus, posing, then using the remote control to take the shot.  Easier said than done.  I had to learn three things, how to use the remote, how to lock the focus and how to pose.

I still don’t have a passable photo, but it was one way to while away an afternoon.

How are you getting on with your own camera?

Last week I declared that we’re going to concentrate on composition for a few weeks.  I need to be more focused over the next 5 weeks as I have two lives to erase in the form of accumulated possessions.  So this week – a composition challenge –  but next week you’ll be given a Treasure Hunt that will keep you going for a few weeks until I manage to find wifi again.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When you walk, either in the country, or in more urban areas, where do you look?  Straight ahead?  At the ground?  Do you ever look up?  Do you find a higher vantage point to look down?

Where you look gives you a specific point of view.  Why not try changing it?

When taking photographs, change your point of view.

The Challenge

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Like last week’s challenge of using the the whole viewer to really see what is in your shot, this involves taking time over your photograph.  When you see something you’d like to take a picture of, change your point of view.

Get down and dirty:

Lily Pond
The blog header photograph was taken lying flat on wet grass to get this point of view.  I stood up covered in mud.

Look up!

Abstract.jpg
This was quite an ugly construction over one of our local canals.  This might look  better if the lines are more diagonal.

Look Down!

Crooked Pub
Reflections on the same canal

Try a different angle:

Sunlight at the Corn Exchange copy.jpg
The Corn Exchange in Leeds is highly photographed, so I took this more unusual angle to capture the shadows created by sunlight through the roof of the building.  On reflection, I think there’s something wrong with the angle, but I liked it when I did it!

Feel free to share any challenge responses and your reflections on your photographic process.  Would love to hear how you are getting on!

12 thoughts on “Through the Looking Lens: No. 8

  1. At the risk of being predictable, I have to say I agree about the photo of the reflection in water. I like the fourth one too, and I don’t see what’s wrong with the angle, but I’m not the artist.
    I need to buy a new charger for my camera. Your images have given me a hunger to take photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the reminder to “look up, down, different angle”. You are quite right, that changing one’s perspective does yield good results.

    In our case, we always use our humble Ipad. It may make professional photographers scoff, but what we find is that, as we travel the world, we get more authentic photos, less posed as a result of the “camera” being less intrusive. The counter-example in our travels are the mobs of Chinese tourists wielding massive cameras that look and feel more like weapons aimed at close range, something that is just not comfortable at all for most people being photographed. In contrast, the flat Ipad is not threatening and, importantly, allows for prompt sharing on a larger screen of the photos with the subjects. This interactive feature of the Ipad as camera allows us to blend in, camera-wise.

    Love the photo of the reflected building in the water. Beautiful!

    Ben

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like your thinking and definitely DSLRs with huge lenses can be very intrusive. My partner is very visible with his camera when he goes out, but it’s often useful for me, as it makes me more invisible. I use a 16 – 85 mm lens in public places and strap it around my wrist. I’m able to get quite candid shots. iPads and smartphones have come on so much – I’ve seen some fabulous photos taken with them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

