Lucid Dream?

We’ve been talking about it for 5 years.  Now it’s real.  We’ve gone from backpacking to motorhoming to a roomy car and finally settled on motorcycles.  Our preparations are now gaining momentum.  Not that we haven’t been preparing, we have, but there hasn’t been the same sense of urgency as it feels now.

I’m not sure why it is, but every clear out I’ve ever had seems to make the house so extraordinarily messy that I feel I’ll never see daylight again.  I’m tripping over boxes.

As we’re selling or giving things away, a new set of belongings are taking their place.  But the difference is that the new belongings fit on top of a table top.   Goodbye cotton, linen and sheep’s wool; hello merino and quick dry.  Goodbye iMac; hello MacBook.  Goodbye chef’s knife, hello bushcraft knife.  Goodbye house, hello tent.   You get the picture.  My entire wardrobe will probably fit into a handbag (excluding the biker gear).

Preparations means uncertain flux.  First we were going to Peru, then Spain, then Germany, but now we’ve now decided to spend some time in Scotland first.   When I say decided, that could very well change at a moment’s notice.  Scotland appeals as you can wild camp there, it’s great for motorcyclists and we just adore the place, but feel there’s loads more to explore.  The route can be via the Lake District, or Northumberland, both extraordinarily beautiful.  There’s a few permaculture/eco projects we’d like to visit en route.  It’s our way of getting our feet wet.

Meanwhile, I’m working on my riding skills with the Destrier.

The-Destrier
The Destrier

I’ve had a few hiccups dealing with the extra weight on camber, managed to drop her (lesson learned: don’t try to indicate when in first gear), ordered crash bars (it will happen again, for sure), and have kept her spotlessly clean as my way of saying sorry.  BMW showrooms are a good place to hang out, you get tips from other riders while you help yourself to free coffee, admire the paintwork of the new models coming in and complain about the lack of extension on their mudguards.  Bike washing is becoming an artform.  I’ve also learned I shouldn’t drop her too often, parts are incredibly expensive.  Scratch on the hand guard?  I can live with it.  The mishaps are lessening and anxiety is turning into a feeling of having fun.

Yesterday’s success: putting her on the centre stand.

Skill to master: Getting her off it again.

I’m armed with knife, rope, tarps and a girl scout’s guide to knots on waterproof cards.  There’s trees in the garden for practice.

Yeah, well, maybe I should just put up the tent first?

 

 

 

37 thoughts on “Lucid Dream?

  1. There’s really only one route to take: Up to Edinburgh, cross over to Glasgow and also do Loch Lomond, then up to Stirling, from there onto Pitlochry (gateway to the begining of the Highlands), then travel over west and route up to Oban, from there up to Skye etc. The west coast is by far the most attractive.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You might also enjoy a ride around the beautiful green Isle of Mull, too. Ferry from Oban. Not to be confused with Mull of Kintyre, south-west – also fantastic scenery and amazing long beaches. Family used to have a holiday house there and we could almost wave to Paul & Linda McCartney.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Nice! Thank you for the tips. Last summer we did a long weekend near Gairloch. Camped by the beach, good fun and very beautiful scenery, enthusiasm undeterred by the usual weather, midges and tics.

          Like

          1. There’s a rather swish looking bike shop, just off the motorway in Glasgow, on Great Western Road, that I’m sure your man (perhaps you, too) might wish to salivate over. If you do visit, you can give me a ring and I’ll buy you a coffee across the road. I live 200 yards from there.

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Sold up a wee while back, we’re in rental now – and yup – uncertain future. I’m mostly excited, a bit of anxiety creeps in every now and then, but it’s more to do with being ready on time rather than – oh s*** – what were we thinking!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’d know all that if I kept up with your blog. Yours is one of the most interesting blogs I’ve found – maybe that’s why I haven’t been reading it. It’s impossible to concentrate on the things that should matter, because of the constant difficulties that surround my small life. There are so many things I don’t do. Whenever I make a plan, someone’s life spills out all over the page, blotting it all out.
        Enough about me. I’m excited for you. Living in houses makes us dirty in so many ways, and we only notice it when we leave. There will be times when you miss the cosy sofa, but the benefits will be so much greater than the drawbacks. – and you’ll be treading so lightly on the planet that you’ll hardly leave a dent.

        Like

        1. Well thank you Jane, I’m not sure that it’s always as meaningful as I’d like it to be. It’s all been a learning curve really.
          The poet in you Jane is evident even in your comments! “Someone’s life spills out all over the page, blotting it all out.” Wonderful 🙂
          I’m lucky really to be less burdened, and I think that’s why we feel we have to do it now. Our sofa isn’t so cosy – honestly – there’s a long history attached to it, but cosy isn’t a good description! One of the things we’ve worked hard on is finding ways to not make it feel like an ordeal. We were away during the summer, and I kept a journal of what worked and didn’t. I learned things like, we need a way to get into the sleep area without having to clamber over luggage, indoor standing room for changing out of clunky gear, and a better food prep arrangement.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. All those issues are essential when it’s a permanent/semi-permanent way of living, rather than a holiday. I’m sure you’ll sort it all out as you go along, if not before.
            I plan to pay more attention from now on.

            Liked by 1 person

        2. Something I meant to say earlier, but I was thinking about how many people like to leave a legacy behind them, I’ve often thought, wouldn’t it be brilliant if people were less ego-centric and strived to leave no trace of ever having been here at all.

          Liked by 1 person

        1. Well think of backpackers, cyclists and mountaineers who have ultralight tents. Then there’s the huge family tents that you can walk around in which are large and super heavy. We’re halfway between those two. http://www.redverzstore.com/en/tents/4-atacama-expedition-tent-green.html (where the bike is in the photo – we’ll be using it for changing out of our gear, cooking, leisure etc.)
          It’s probably our heaviest and bulkiest single item, so is likely to sit across the top of the two panniers. Will keep you posted as we begin the packing and organisation solutions seriously.

          Liked by 2 people

            1. I think, for me, until I bought a house, the longest I lived anywhere, was 5 years my whole life, and holidays were mostly backpacking with the kids and 4 week cycling/camping trips. I actually hate travelling anything but light. I learned a long time ago how little we really need and I find it really liberating. Once I managed two weeks in Europe with only a tenner in my pocket (not even passport). I don’t advise that though.

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

