Reviving the Knowledge Cooperative

The Knowledge Cooperative was intended to be a weekly feature of permaculture-related blogs, the aim being to establish connections, share how huge the movement is and engage in some bloglovin’.  There’s a few that I’ve been meaning to share, so between efforts of reducing life to panniers and a top box, I’ll attempt a catch up.

I rummaged through the blogs I’m following and came across Huddersfield Greens by Plastic is Rubbish, who I don’t remember ever following, so I clicked.  I live only 6 miles from Huddersfield and I thought it would be good to start local and journey outward.  They have only 1 follower, who must be me, I’m intrigued – Plastic is Rubbish definitely needs some help.  However, the blog no longer exists, and I’m teased with the first 100 words or so of several posts that looked like they’d be quite interesting to read.  No wonder it’s just me!  I Google explore to see if Plastic is Rubbish has gone elsewhere.  It seems that Plastic is Rubbish is more popularly known as Polytheen Pam and her blog has won awards and even been featured in The Guardian, the pinnacle of blog success, in my eyes!

Polytheen Pam is leading a boycott of plastic.   Her blog is guide to living plasticless and she goes beyond recycling to the challenges of zero waste households.   Want to get started?  She has offers some superfast ways to get going with your plastic boycott.  One suggestion is to spend an hour or so with Jeremy Irons.  Who can resist?

Plastic is Rubbish is now part of a wider effort to make the UK plasticless, being a contributor to a national directory of plastic free organisations and individuals.

Are you part of the change (I KNOW some of you are)?  Would you like to be interviewed either by email or Skype (or similar) and featured in the Knowledge Cooperative?   Get in touch: safarfiertze@gmail.com.

 

2 thoughts on “Reviving the Knowledge Cooperative

  1. I couldn’t help thinking as I read this post that in this time of awakening, we are beginning to move backwards. Backwards to our roots when things were natural and we hadn’t hijacked nature.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I”ve thought about this quite a lot. We’ve become so brainwashed into notions of ‘progress’ that going backwards is negative word, leaving many to feel resistant to message calling for change. Yet, at the same time, they know something very deep-rooted is missing from their lives and they are not happy. I’d prefer to see it as a different form of progress, from an anthropocentric view to an interconnected perspective, while at the same time recognising that we are clever enough and such advanced technology that damaging dependence isn’t inevitable any more.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

