The rise of the forest city

Recently, Debbie over at Spaceship China, talked about the problem of pollution in China, particularly Beijing. However, the political response hasn’t been 1. to deny that it exists or 2. to bury heads in the sand. Debbie goes on to explain how policy is changing in response to the problem.

Do you follow blogs that you don’t really follow? I’ve realised I’m doing quite a bit of that lately, so popped over to follow what Jeremy is doing over at Make Wealth History. I’m glad I did. His latest post complements Debbie’s very well. He’s kindly allowed me to reblog it.

Make Wealth History

Here’s a nice update on a previous building of the week – Bosco Verticale, the residential tower blocks in Milan that were designed to create a ‘vertical forest’. After the success of that project, architect Stefano Boeri has had a lot of interest in the idea and a number of other projects have been suggested. Unsurprising, given that these forested towers reduce heating and cooling needs, improve air and noise pollution, lower the urban heat island effect and improve urban biodiversity. And they look brilliant.

Nowhere has shown more interest in the idea than China, where Boeri has worked on an airport terminal, hotels, parks, an office, and a series of large scale concepts. Work is underway on a new tower in Nanjing that will incorporate a museum, a hotel, and a school of sustainable architecture.

vertical-forest-nanjing

It’s appropriate that this has taken off in China. For one thing, it…

View original post 282 more words

8 thoughts on “The rise of the forest city

  1. I keep seeing a Japanese documentary about a “self contained city” that’s due to open in Shanghai this year… tallest building in China. I think its gardens are going to be inside but I keep missing that part.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the shout-out Safar. Nanjing is just up the road – or up the high speed rail – from me and I knew about that forest tower, didnt think to mention it in the post. Its quite a great concept and I liked Jeremy’s article. thanks for resposting it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I should pay a bit more attention to facebook – but I’m following someone there who has done some large scale vertical gardens, but one of his projects went awry, and I think it had to do with maintenance. But I was taught on my permaculture course when I hadn’t factored in wind in a project I was designing for a specific home that the house itself was going to deteriorate without some plant protection. And as multi-functionality is a principle, the added value of heat maintenance within the house was pointed out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

