The Choice is Ours

The Choice is Ours is a film which raises awareness about the Venus Project.  Founded in 1995, the Venus Project proposes an alternative vision of what the future can be if current knowledge is applied to achieving a sustainable new world civilisation.

It encourages cultural change, as well as the application of new technologies to create a global society of abundance.

The film is in four parts, starting from how things are, to how they could be.  If you check the text below the film, it provides time markers for each section, so if you don’t have time for it all, you can select the part that appeals.

 

8 thoughts on “The Choice is Ours

  1. thanks for this post, Safar. I checked it out, very interesting, read some of the articles on language, very interesting. I like the idea of his new city: I will revisit this site. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been surprised at its lack of reach (one of the commenters suggested they improve their SEO!), which is interesting as the project isn’t about losing all those mod cons we’ve come to enjoy, so I would have thought would have wider appeal. Glad it’s piqued your interest!

      Like

  2. I started to watch this and immediately started questioning in light off some of the things that are happening right now with people being replaced in competitive jobs by mechanical forms that can do the same thing. My first thought, what happens to all the people? How do they exist then? I expect he MAY have an answer? I’ll come back and listen a bit later… Intriguing.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t pay attention after I heard that comment. I guess I was thinking of it from the practical side. It’s not just that people need food to survive. They also need something worthwhile to do to make them feel justified (that’s probably not the right word). Oh my… I feel an existential pondering coming on!

        Like

  3. I am really enjoying your posts, Safar. At the end of the day, when all the work is done, I’ll check out this video. Lately, more now than ever, we all need to be thinking about our great ability to make change for the greater good. All do our piece, work collectively, commit to making a difference, big or small….. we can do this. Use those hearts! Use those minds! Thank you for sharing the ideas, wisdom, possibilities that promote positive change. Have a great day!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

