The Wrong Road

The new hazard for motorcycle riding: skin seeping, soul merging, blood freezing cold.

Now, it’s not that I’m soft or anything, I’m a bit of an outdoor gal, but even with four layers under an all weather suit with thermal inner, that cold bites.  And I’ve not been on the bike if it goes under 3°C, mostly as there has been black ice lingering locally.  First it starts in the finger tips, then it creeps up the arms and slowly down to the knees.  There’s a tolerance point whereby it can be ignored, but then it sets in and freezes the mind too – the danger point.  For some reason, the lower extremities don’t become affected, my feet stay snug and warm.

Road Test, Take Two, is imminent.  I’ve spent as many days as I have been able, between unsavoury weather conditions, riding over to the test centre and exploring its environs so that I don’t meet any unexpected surprises.  For example, like single lanes that suddenly break into two filter lanes with the only warning being directions painted on the road, hidden from view by cars stopped at traffic lights, something which caught me out in Take One.

Mostly the riding is going well, but there’s a couple of things I still find very difficult:  making a decision about what lane to be in when following road signs and reading roundabouts quickly enough to respond without piddling off the person behind me.  With the break from lessons, I’ve made myself do all those nightmarish roads I’ve been avoiding.

Leeds on Boxing Day

Leeds is accessible from where I live mainly by motorway.  The first challenge is to avoid that route.  I memorise the numbers of the A roads I want to follow, but the second challenge is to recognise that closer to Leeds, two of the A roads turn into A(M) i.e. motorway.    I set myself the task of trying to get through Leeds to the York road without ending up on any of the motorways.  I got to Leeds, but lost the route.  Verd took over and led us home again.  All I can say is, I wouldn’t like to be in Leeds on a busy day!

a58m_leeds_inner_ring_road_16th_november_2013

Bradford in January

Not so long ago, if I found myself in the wrong lane, I’d panic as wouldn’t know where I’d end up.   The problem is putting yourself in danger trying to get in the right lane.  I’ve since learned that sometimes it is safe to do so, in which case, switch, but often it isn’t.  Today is one of those days.  I need the Wakefield road, but don’t know that yet. Instead I find myself in a lane for the centre of Bradford, looking lovingly at the road I really want to be on, but can’t be.  Bradford is notorious, so that decorative language to which I’ve now become habituated spits from my lips.  I follow the road and the traffic through the city and realise the road is going somewhere that would bring me home, but I’m in a right hand lane, and need to be on the left.  Cars are jostling for position, I judge it safer to stay put.  I’ve learned my lesson after Take One.  So around Bradford we go, and as the road opens up before me, I see cars almost doing three point turns to get into the right lane.  I think I’m in the right lane, but it turns out I’m not.  We’re going back to the city.  So around we go again, but now I know to follow signs for the ring road.  Boy did I give it some welly when I was in the right lane going in the right direction.

I learned something though.  It is alright to be on the wrong road.  It might be a detour, but it is a mighty grand adventure to discover how you are going to get yourself back on track.  I think I’m over the panic of going the wrong way and shan’t worry too much in the test if that happens.  They can’t fail you for going the wrong way, only for trying to switch lanes when it isn’t safe to do so.

Bridge Street and Sunbridge Road, Bradford

Terror Zone

When I began this journey of facing what was essentially a road phobia in the worst way possible – on two wheels instead of in a tin can on four – I couldn’t even look at a map or put on my biker gear without having to run to the loo in terror.  I soon realised I’d conditioned a fear response to anything to do with the bike.  I can’t say that I’m now desensitised completely, but I am out of the terror zone, and more just beyond my comfort zone, and that is only because I’m taking on bigger challenges.  I’ve realised that rather than this being the worst time of the year to learn, I have had to deal with poor visibility, wet roads, visors without windscreen wipers, wind, low sun glare and cold, it has prepared me for all kinds of conditions that I’ll meet in the future.  I’m proud of how far I’ve come, even if it did take me longer than most.

Oh, I almost forgot: dealing with the cold.  Pull up the bike and do a dance to get the blood flowing again!

 

Image Credit:

Leeds Inner Ring Road MTaylor848

Bradford City Tim Green

13 thoughts on “The Wrong Road

  1. Congrats for embracing your fears with so much courage and risk taking! The greater the risk I guess, the greater the reward. Fear of course can cripple us. You certainly are dealing with extreme weather conditions ~ more power to you girl!!!! Well done!
    Peta

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know what you mean about not being able to read the signs painted on the streets. I have a HORRID time with that just getting from here to the airport down by Salt Lake and I’ve driven it many times and still get nervous

    And the other thing I identify with is the fear of not know how to find my way back to where I want to be if I take a wrong interstate exit in a place I don’t know. My nerves absolutely will not allow me to drive in places like that. (I also have the bathroom thing down pat!!! 😦 )

    You hang in there now. You’re ALMOST done with this part!!! {{{Safar}}}

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve started to realise that I’m not the only one! When someone in front of me is going 10 mph slower than the speed limit, and being erratic, I tell myself that it’s the first day they’re driving the car on their own and they feel just like I do. I remember a colleague taking 13 attempts before she passed her driving test. It just seems like so much information to take in at one time, but I’m starting to see a kind of logic in roads now. Ring roads are good, they do just go round and you can go back to GO and try over!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Took me three tries to get my license. I would have had to go back to school had I flunked it again. They’re putting a lot of those turn abouts in over here now, too. They actually are much safer, I think, as long as they’re not HUGE.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. There were days when I would ride through a snow storm and be coated in sheet ice. My breath froze and welded my scarf to my beard. I used to have to wait for it to thaw before I could prise it off. I wore big knee-length boots with thick socks and thick leather gloves with silk glove inners and my hands and feet would still lose all feeling and hurt like hell when the circulation came back. Aaah!! the joys of biking!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

