Eco-Warrior Challenge No.6: Day Four

When my children were younger, I used to put up the xmas tree and decorations the night before. I liked the impact it would have when they came down in the morning.  It meant that Christmas only lasted as long as I wanted it to.  I dislike the two months commercial build up it has now become.  The night before also means no excess.  Over the years, the tree and decorations have become simpler.  I now going searching for a windfall twig in the garden and it can look surprisingly effective once a tiny set of lights and little decorations adorn it.   It requires some care, as when dried out, the little branches can snap easily.  But I like it.   Holly, which is now rampant in the garden, replaces tinsel.

I love the smells associated with Christmas, so my decorations focus on warming the atmosphere with aroma.

3069374690_849c919e2d_b
Orange clove pomanders

There is something relaxing about creating orange clove pomanders.  Sat around a fire, it’s a great way to get the whole family involved.  Kids have fun with creating pretty designs.

Pot Pourri filling decorative bowls can be visually as well as olifactorily enhancing.  Try cinnamon sticks, pine cones and pine sprigs, whole nutmeg, cloves, dried apple slices, cardamon pods, star anise and rosemary sprigs.

Essential oils of orange, clove, ginger, cinnamon and nutmeg diffused have immediate impact.

A novel gift idea?  A small box with a few chocolate gold coins and bottles of frankincense and myrrh.

Happy smells!

Featured image: Orange cloves

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Eco-Warrior Challenge No.6: Day Four

  1. I love this idea for an add-on to whatever I give someone for our “secret santa” exchange. Would love to go all-eco but I doubt anyone on my team would be okay with that.

    Like

  2. I love making the orange-clove balls. Anything that smells is a plus for me. But NOT the cinnamon-soaked pine cones. I am SO allergic to them. They make my throat close up. I’m going to try your tree branch Christmas tree next year IF Bran is off being pastor somewhere!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

