Haiku Chain

Mountain of paper noodles,

earthworm fodder to

keep mycelium running.

One of my friends shared the TED talk below and I was really happy to see it as I’d been trying to explain this to some ex-colleagues recently and they looked at me as if I was mad.  It might have helped if I hadn’t been couching it in magical terms and wasn’t half as drunk as I was.  Anyways, moving swiftly on…..

I was shredding old school papers and PhD notes, which I’ve finally decided to let go of.  The paper will be used for mulch and I know the worms will do their work in a short space of time.  It’s a mindless activity, and as my mind wandered I remembered that I’d promised to start a haiku chain.

All this came about from a conversation revolving around the creative use of a poem to inspire another poem, making use of a word cloud.

The challenge goes like this:

Person 1 (that’ll be me)

  1. Create a haiku – no constraints
  2. Pick a person to create the next link in the chain.

Person 2 (that’ll be Calensariel, as she thought it might be fun)

  1. Create a haiku with one constraint
  2. The first word of the haiku you create is the last word of the previous haiku
  3. Pick a person to create the next link in the chain

Persons 3-20

  1. Repeat the instructions for Person 2

Person 21 (that’ll be the last person in the chain)

  1. Create a haiku with two constraints
  2. The first word of the haiku you create is the last word of the previous haiku.
  3. The last word of the haiku you create is first word of the first haiku in the chain.

And so the circle is closed.

Garden Fairy Ring.jpg
Fairy ring in the garden

A couple of ‘rules’ so that we get to keep track of the links in the chain:

  1. When you participate, you agree that others are able to share your haiku, using the credits and the link back to the post that you provide.
  2. Post all previous haiku on your blog, including all the credits and links provided.  Add your haiku to the chain.
  3. Credit yourself, and include a link back to your post.  You might need to edit your post and add the link in retrospect.
  4. Create a link back to this post.
  5. Have fun!!

Mountain of paper noodles,

earthworm fodder to

keep mycelium running.

(Safar Fiertze)

14 thoughts on “Haiku Chain

  1. Hi there all,

    We seem to have a break in the chain – if you know that someone is about to respond to this, let me know, otherwise I’m going to invite another blogger in myself and see if we can start forging again!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

