Home Grown & Home Made

I think it’s time for an update.

I hope you all survived and even enjoyed the holiday season.  I had one of those where I vowed that next year – I’m going to do things differently.  Christmas has got to go.  I’ve been somewhat inert since the event and lost my stride in progress towards the new future.  The announcement that this might not be until at least the middle of the year didn’t really help to reengage my enthusiasm.  But after visiting my offspring and a charming day with my grandson I’ve returned with more vigour.

Cold weather, dark nights, warm fires and I started knitting.  It’s going to be Etsy by the time we go anywhere, and I figure I’ll have a very portable business.

You may have noticed that the blog name has changed to Zone Zero Zero.  This is a business name myself and Verd decided on a couple of years ago and will be the generic name for our project.  We have a list of other product line names to go with the big brand. Anyway, the look and nature of this blog will start to differ, although its general content will not change.

Running was stalled as I pulled a muscle in me ARSE.  I couldn’t stretch at all, so running wasn’t only painful, but was like being on a bicycle in first gear – a lot of effort and not getting anywhere.

You may remember Bertie?

Well, I’ve struggled since in trying to get a gluten-free bread as good as the spelt sourdough that shortly became a staple in my diet.  I have produced awful tastes, created bricks and a couple of almost edible variants.

But I do believe I’ve cracked it.

I’ve been asked for this recipe, so posting it here.  It is a variant of many other bread bakers’ recipes I’ve tried and I think can safely be said to be my own.  It does seem tricky as the instructions are long, but it actually only takes about 10 minutes of your time.  I’m now getting into a habit, so that I bake every second day without hassle and have got into a routine of keeping the alchemic ingredients in tip top shape.

Gluten-Free Sourdough Bread 

First you need to make a sourdough starter.  I’m going to give the version I used, but also another version that seems to work out well too.

Sourdough starter 1 (the version I now use)

For this you’ll need some water kefir.  This is easy to make, but you will need to buy some grains to get going.  These are inexpensive and there are several sources online.

Water Kefir

Add two tablespoons of grains to a litre of fresh coconut water (this is our favourite variant of water kefir).

Add 6 raisins, sultanas, dried prunes or any other dried fruti

Add 1/2 lemon (whole – don’t juice it – just place in the water).

Cover the water with a cloth or lid (but not air tight container).  I use a kilner jar without the seal.

Leave in a warm room for 24-72 hours.

I’ve found 72 hours is best.

Strain the water and store in a bottle, put in the fridge where it will undergo secondary fermentation and become a little fizzy.  It is ok to use after straining.

The grains can be stored and reused.  They do actually multiply if you look after them.

Sourdough starter 1

2 tablespoons brown rice flour

2 tablespoons buckwheat flour

4 tablespoons water kefir

Mix together quickly with a spoon or fork, cover and set aside for 48 hours at room temperature.

Stir 2-3 times a day.

48 hours later

“Feed” the sourdough starter with 1 tablespoon each rice and buckwheat flour

and 2 tablespoons water kefir, mix and set aside for a further 48 hours, stirring 2-3 times a day.

The starter will start to look bubbly and even smell yeasty.

The starter that isn’t used can be refrigerated until needed, so you don’t need to start from scratch every time.

Sourdough starter 2

As for sourdough starter 1, but replace the water kefir with pineapple juice.

Sourdough Bread Recipe

80g brown rice flour

140g sourdough starter

110g water (don’t use tap water – chlorine will affect the behaviour of the sourdough)

Mix together in a bowl and leave to sit overnight at room temperature

 

350g water (room temperature)

20g chia seeds

10g ground flax seeds

10g salt

Mix the above together and wait until it thickens a little (the seeds absorb moisture to form a gel.

60g sorghum flour

60g oat flour (I use oatflakes and mix them in a food processor for about 30 secs)

60g buckwheat flour

60g cornmeal

60g millet

60g tapioca starch

2 tablespoons agave syrup (honey or sugar will substitute)

 

Mix everything together in a bowl, cover and set aside for 4-6 hours.

The constituency is like a very thick batter.

Preheat oven at 250° C (225° fan oven)

Line a clay baker or casserole dish with greaseproof paper

Pour into a clay baker/casserole dish and cover with lid.

The dough will be spongy more than stretchy.

Bake for 50 minutes

Remove lid

Bake for a further 15 minutes without a lid

Turn and place on a wire cooling rack immediately

Remove paper if needed

Leave for at least one hour before slicing.

Cover in a clean tea towel until completely cool

Butter and enjoy!!

This may last up to a week.  Toasting after the first 48 hours is recommended.

 

Let me know if you try this recipe and share what you think.

Any further questions also welcome.

 

Leave a Reply

