Word for Wednesday

Kat of Kittkat-bitsandbogs got me out of my chair today.  I was happy to read through the reader for the rest of the afternoon and perhaps write a post, but her Word for Wednesday inspired a trip into the sunshine armed with my camera.

Word for Wednesday is her weekly event where she chooses a word, writes about what it means to her and invites others to do the same.  You know how you’ve always been meaning to do things, but somehow life and procrastination get in the way?  I’m sure you’ve got a story or two to tell about a fateful moment of procrastination?

Anyway, I’ve been meaning to join in a couple of weekly events that fellow bloggers have organised.  Word for Wednesday was one of them.

Today’s word: Autumn

Autumnal-Stream-for-web

Kat wrote about her love for golden light and dazzling colours of autumn.  I looked up from the screen, noted that one of the pigeons looks a bit scraggier than normal – they keep fighting with the magpies – and raised my head to the leafy foliage framing the sky.  That was it.  I was up out of my chair, soon donned in boots and all-weather gear,  sporting the purple all-purpose rucksack as provisions were also needed, and the camera was strapped around my wrist in readiness for what might befall me.  It was a good test of fitness – a backpack of tinned tomatoes, onions, 3 bags of flour and a large bottle of olive oil whilst doing squats to get good photos.  And this was after double t’ai chi.

If you’ve been following my mental meanderings, you might remember that I briefly talked about the Irish Independent friend I had when young and out of control during a time spent in Dublin.  He was fond of quoting Keats and Yeats.  Kat’s choice of a Keats’ poem reminded me of a walk we took along a Dublin canal conversing about literature and such things.

I’m not going to quote Keats, but Yeats.  It is, I believe, apt for the photo of the day:

Garden-Fairy-Ring-for-web
Come away, O human child! To the waters and the wild With a faery, hand in hand, For the world’s more full of weeping than you can understand.

Come away, O human child!

To the waters and the wild

With a faery, hand in hand,

For the world’s more full of weeping than you can understand.

(W.B. Yeats)

You may recognise the words of “Stolen Child” as it was set to music by the Waterboys.  One of my personal favourites, so if you’ve not heard it before and would like to hear all the words of the poem, here’s a treat:

Thank you Kat, I’d never have done this today if it wasn’t for the gentle nudge of inspiration!

And a little more of my autumn:

Ash-Seeds-for-Web
Ash Seeds

With ash die back last year, it’s good to see this specimen thriving .

Seeding-Aztec-Broccoli
Aztec Broccoli tip – now turning to seed.

And finally, that burst of colour and light that brought me out:

Autumnal Leaves for web
I adore trees

Photographs © Safar Fiertze

7 thoughts on “Word for Wednesday

  1. Wow! What beautiful photos! I love them, especially the mushrooms… I’ve been known to snap various fungi too – they are such pretty little shapes. The broccoli looks spectacular.
    I love Yeats too and think you picked a perfect quote to match to your photos.
    I’m so glad you felt inspired to get out and about and take these gorgeous shots.
    Thank you so much for joining in!
    Kat X

    Like

Leave a Reply

