Backyard Chicken Eggonomics: How Much Does it Really Cost to Raise Chickens?

I haven’t got as far as the funding of our future project although I know there will be a point I’ll need to do the sums. So nuggets like this article are like gold to me. Wonderful post. I like the side benefits other than the overall monetary profit to be gained from the endeavour, particularly the value of chickens to soil and their role within a permaculture project more generally. Every element in the land should have more than one function – this is a great illustration of that design principle.

Mind Your Dirt

I’ve found that this is a question I’m often asked when I tell people that I raise backyard chickens. How much does it cost in dollars as well as time? So I decided to start taking notes of all my expenditure, the time that I spend on tending my flock as well as what I’m getting out of having backyard chickens. I always figured I kinda broke even, but I was surprised to discover that I actual turn a handsome profit for my labor of love.

View original post 1,880 more words

3 thoughts on “Backyard Chicken Eggonomics: How Much Does it Really Cost to Raise Chickens?

    1. Sorry James for the late reply, but yes, I loved the whole idea of egonomics! I recently learned about the incredible edibles movement which started in Todmorden, West Yorks, and they’re doing town scale ‘egonomics’ and used eggs to encourage local consumerism. Demand for local has increased, and in response, so has supply. Not sure if you’re interested, but here’s a link: http://www.incredible-edible-todmorden.co.uk/projects/every-egg-matters-todmorden

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

