Catharsis

She smiled, inviting me inside her home, tidily cluttered with 73 years of memories.  The room had a faint aroma of lavender.  I handed the letter to her with a curator’s care, and watched the adjustment of her spectacles and the light tremble of her hand as it was unfolded.  I barely breathed as her eyes shimmered in the veil of silent tears.  I remained still while she renewed the creases etched upon the paper.  She squeezed my hand and I felt all the heartfelt years of unknowingness release from within her.

I departed, leaving her in the solitude of her solace.

***********

Based on the Day 5 Writing 101 Challenge: to write a story about the finding of a random letter on the path and to approach the post in as few words as possible.

Leave a Reply

