Tumble blindly

Who can resist a simple love song?  The yearning of lost and unrequited love is timeless in its expression and never more so in this Celtic classic, “Black is the Colour”.  I first heard it sung by two mathematicians in a pub in Ireland, and its impression has never left me, no matter how many times I hear it.  On listening to various renditions by different artists only inspires new interpretations, and I suffer death a thousand times in empathy with the mournful lover whether it be sung by Cara Dillon or Paul Weller:

“I go to the Clyde and I mourn and weep,
And satisfied, I never can be,
And I write her a letter, just a few short lines,
And suffer death, a thousand times.”

Although I’ve commenced this post with a dose of romanticism, it is not of my usual nature.  Dark passion stirs my imagination to writing more than contemporary notions of romantic love.  Evening on the Ground (Lilith’s Song) by Iron and Wine depicts the archetypal seductress embodied in the demon Lilith to the dark garden of Eden.  No matter which mythological depiction of Lilith you hold, Sam Beam captures her nature in:

“So you will blame me
Blame me for the rocks
And baby bones and broken lock
On the garden
Garden wall of Eden
For the spider bites…….”

To describe the emotions that are induced by three songs which have importance to me I wish that my words would flow “out out like endless rain into a paper cup”.  How can I reveal the inner stirrings of my soul when others have expressed them so perfectly?

`’Words are flowing out like endless rain into a paper cup
They slither wildly as they slip away across the universe
Pools of sorrow, waves of joy are drifting through my opened mind
Possessing and caressing me

………

Images of broken light which dance before me like a million eyes
They call me on and on across the universe
Thoughts meander like a restless wind inside a letter box
They tumble blindly as they make their way across the universe”

If only my stream of consciousness was so eloquent.

*********************************

Posted in response to the Day 3 challenge of the Writing 101 – Blogging University course: Free write for approximately 15 mins about three songs that are important to you.

The three songs:

“Across The Universe” (Beatles)

“Evening on the Ground (Lilith’s Song)” (Iron & Wine)

“Black is the Colour” (Traditional)
2 thoughts on “Tumble blindly

  1. I’ve found and heard right now your first song, Black is the colour, I knew I would like it because I always have liked Celtic music and romantic lyrics (yes, I have my moments). It’s a pity that my English doesn’t let me to understand it in voice, but can read lyrics as it sounds. This was Christy Moore, unknown for me until the moment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

