Taking the First Step: Heritage Seeds

Huauzontle
Huauzontle (Aztec Broccoli)

I’ve been feeling somewhat in limbo. This is mainly to do with a lack of progressing in a practical sense with our permie plans.  Work is totally crazy at the moment and I’m regularly working 5am-5pm, so not a lot of energy left for building up those practical skills we’re going to need.  It’s easy to be the Lazy Witch.  However, today I took another of those first steps and decided to figure out ways to produce some food in our temporary home this year, and create a bee-friendly environment.

Dill-Flowers-Anethum-graveolens__IMG_3462-580x386
Dill

I can see plenty of green material about for mulching, not to mention our own waste.  I’ve noticed a neighbour with a horse and a llama, who may be able to provide us with good ol’ manure. The garden has several edges to exploit.  I can’t do too much redesigning as the grounds do not belong to us, but I can enhance the potential that is there within the permissions granted by the landlord.  As a result I’ve created some initial plans and found some heritage seeds to get started with.  I’ve got a few varieties of edible flowers, herbs and leaves, and was careful in my purchase not to go overboard and risk a danger of cross-pollination (as I nearly did with a choice of 4 different varieties of basil!).

borage
Borage

I’m hoping that one outcome of this endeavour, apart from a whole new set of recipes to experiment with and a happy landlord, is to create a humble seed bank.  With luck, I may become involved in seed exchange in the future.

Will keep you updated with photos and recipes through the year.

Photographs:  None are my own, but creative commons free to share.  They are illustrative of some of the plants I’m planning to grow.

5 thoughts on “Taking the First Step: Heritage Seeds

    1. Thank you! One of the reason for bee friendliness is that we do keep bees http://safarfiertze.com/category/beekeeping/). We have one hive at the moment, but given that they seem to have not only survived the winter, they seem to be thriving. It’s likely that we might be able to manage an artificial swarm to a second hive.
      We won’t know fully how they are until it is warm enough for a full inspection, but at the moment, when the temperature rises, they are out and hauling in the pollen they can get and we’re pleased that their main pest, the varroa mite is in low numbers.
      Faraday’s candle recommend a Netflix documentary (http://faradayscandle.com/2015/03/05/where-are-the-bees/). I do also recommend the documentary ‘More than Honey’, although it was rather difficult to find. It draws attention to some very worrying beekeeping practices.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Looking forward to photos and recipes from your organic garden. My husband is into seeds and sowing – I don’t have a green thumb (every plant I touch dies on me!) so I’m always in awe to see other people growing their own stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

